Little wants to win…!!!!

From monday onwards we are going to have our annual office chess championship tournament. Winner of last two years is yours truly i.e Me. Now here is the thing, I haven’t played chess for almost 12months now and I have zero confidence in me, which is not good because this tournament means a lot to me. Its like its the one and only thing in the world I’m good at,I can’t screw up and can pull off nicely. I am very competitive when it comes to chess, only twice I have lost in chess purposely.

Today everyone was like “you are th champ”…yes I was but I now fear even the most novice players. Why? No practice and zero motivation. Doesn’t feel nice to know that one thing I had control of is now shaky too.

But its okay I’m not going to quit. I will play, if I lose well I guess I will blame it all on the Domino effect that has started.

If I lose this week well I’m going to be very sad, which isn’t a new thing but I will be sad.

Today I realized one very important thing. It is kind of painful but then reality always bites. Anyways, let’s just focus on next week’s game. Fingers crossed.

There is a fine line between pep talk and lying to self…!!!!!

6 thoughts on “Little wants to win…!!!!

    • You are so right… So true, the pressure will not let me enjoy it… but there is pressure πŸ˜› from others…
      Will try to have fun and not think about the end result, afterall I love this game and I rather enjoy it ..thanks πŸ™‚

  1. You are the champ and it doesn’t takes much to get back that “champ spirit”..
    I know..motivation is a problem, but psuedo motivation factor still counts.. You know for whom u have to win this πŸ™‚
    there is no domino effect.. Its just the mind.
    Concentrate on the bishop, rook and queen..your entire kingdom is waiting for you to dominate..
    that said, how does the last line connects with the post anyway? πŸ˜›

  2. I’ve just witnessed one of my son’s having to bid adieu to his status as the “best belly flop” at our pool’s annual July 4th festivities. He took it pretty well. Last year, he won with his first belly flop ever. We agreed that knowing how it feels to smack the water could have held him back this year. Don’t let your previous victories be a handicap — go in there like it’s one of your first games! Good luck!!

    • “go in there like it’s one of your first games”…. Thanks πŸ™‚ this just inspired me. I’m going to take your son as my inspiration…afterall he is a champ too :)… You know I don’t even know how to swim.. πŸ˜›

      • Glad to help (Thing 2 will also be glad to be of inspiration)….I am a terrible swimmer…longtime fear of water that I may post on sometime. Just crossing fingers that I could save kids if necessary!!

Leave a Reply

