Little likes 15th August…!!!!

Before I go on writing about how was the day, I would like to ask you guys is WordPress asking you to approve your own comments? It is asking me…really. Every time I reply to one your comment, it goes to “Approval waiting” category and I have to approve my own comment. True Story.

15th August is a big day for two reasons…A – its Independence Day for everyone in my country, B – It’s my hero’s birthday day.

Till last year I was a very patriotic person, I still am but now it’s minus the word “Very”. Every year we celebrate independence and I get to hear stories of how soldiers and freedom fighters gave up their life to build a free country. I do not know why two nations fight but I do know that being a nation with freedom to live the way you want (almost) is priceless. I may be one of those few Indians who do not know much about my own heritage, culture and history but I do know that it took us years and lots of soldiers to reach where are today.

There is no word to describe the whole sacrifice and the endless efforts of army guys serving day and night on the cold and rough borders of Kashmir and Siachen and Drass and other places. I come from an army background, my dad has been on the border too and now my brother wishes to join Indian army. So the whole patriotism is in my DNA, so much that I almost made up my mind about joining too.

So what happened to the “Very” factor? Long story. I don’t know. I think my anger and agony has overshadowed every feeling I ever had. But I still love my country and a lot many things about it. And irrespective of the country, who doesn’t like to live in a free and democratic nation. Democracy and freedom to think and talk is pretty important. When I read “A thousand splendid suns” I started valuing independence even more. 65 years of freedom is still not big and we have a long way to go to get grip of changing times, but it’s also a long way from zero.

Salute to every soldier who fought for his country.

Unlike every other year when I wore a flag or bought one, this year i celebrated my independence day with ice-cream.

Also since it was the happy birthday day of love of my life, an ice-cream was important. Year 2000 15th august was the day when Snowy came home. He wasn’t born today but he came to us on this day and so we mark it as his birthday.

Tiny little doggie looking at us with two very round and scary eyes. I had have never seen anything so small, so beautiful and so cute. I never thought I would fell in love with this tiny miny four leggy awesome furry thing. Snowy has become a major part of our life, like a family member. Everyone at my place is always busy with him.

I think I mentioned this before I like to say “I love you” to him. I often tell him that he is awesome, I do not care if he has no idea what I’m talking bout. He takes me for granted; he is a naughty crazy kid who likes to take all the attention from everyone in the family. He hates posing for camera and he likes to follow my mom from one room to another.  Sometimes when he wants to be alone and sleep, I sit next to him and tell him what’s worrying me (of course he looks at me with “dude! Nap time” eyes. 🙂  )

Last year when he got sick, it tore me apart. Only I know what it felt to see him in pain and the day he got operated was the most difficult day of my life because he is so tiny and he couldn’t even tell us “that I don’t like the doctor guy or that it hurts”. I can’t see him hurt or in pain. I don’t think it’s easy to forget those few days ever. He is old very old and it worries me day and night, I don’t like to talk about it (among many other things I prefer to keep to me).

Happy Birthday my love, thank you for coming to us. 🙂

 

8 thoughts on “Little likes 15th August…!!!!

  1. Congrats on your independence day! I have no idea how it feels to live in a country like yours, but independence is a must for every country in the world, so that I can relate to 🙂
    And happy happy Snowy day! Lots of love to you both 🙂

  2. Happy birthday to him…
    as i told already, i liked the “unboxing snowy” pic 🙂

    time for gotham city, but just another day 😉

  3. Your Snowy reminds me of my little boy Kush. He’s been gone for a few years now but I still miss him. He had that same intelligent look on his face. -big hugs-

Leave a Reply

